Last Updated on May 21, 2019

Automatic Synchronization and Forced Channel Update

Although a manually forced channel update can be performed at any time, the system automatically synchronizes all updated data per hour and quantities per 15 minutes through the eCommerce channels. The data to be automatically updated by default needs to be preset.

Automatic Channel Synchronization Settings

Step 1: In the navigation pane on the left-hand side of the screen, a plus sign appears next to the word ‘Settings’. This can be clicked to expand the navigation panel revealing the word ‘Common’. Click the word ‘Common’:

Step 2: The second tab, labeled ‘Sync’, is where default channel options can be found:

The first field is labeled ‘Include All Inventory’ and can be viewed as a yes/no (all or nothing) question:

  • If the box is ticked, all products and data in inventory will be updated live during the next scheduled or forced, sync.
  • If the box is not ticked, no products or data will be updated live during the next scheduled or forced, sync.

Under ‘Include All Inventory’, is the option to ‘Allow Product Creation’. This can also be viewed as a yes/no (all or nothing) question.

  • If the box is ticked, newly created products to be updated live during the next scheduled, or forced, sync.  
  • If the box is not ticked, newly created products will not be updated live during the next scheduled or forced, sync.  

The next section is labeled ‘Enable Updates’. The options presented are:

  • Product Data
  • Inventory
  • Price
  • Shipping Price
  • Images

For each option, placing a tick mark in the corresponding box tells the system “yes” (enable updates – for all products). Not placing a tick mark in the corresponding box, tells the system “no” (do not enable updates – for all products).

In the next section, placing a tick mark in the box next to ‘Remove Discontinued Items’ will tell the system that the products recently marked as ‘Discontinued’ should be removed from public view. 

Not placing a tick mark in the box next to ‘Remove Discontinued Items’ will tell the system that the products recently marked as ‘Discontinued’ should be left visible to the public.

The last option is ‘Create Discontinued Items’. Placing a tick mark in the box next to ‘Create Discontinued Items’ will tell the system that the products recently created as ‘Discontinued’ should be made visible to the public. 

Not placing a tick mark in the box next to ‘Create Discontinued Items’ will tell the system that the products recently created as ‘Discontinued’ should not be made visible to the public.

Before moving ahead, any changes made should be Saved.

Earlier in this chapter, it was stated that data is automatically synchronized every few hours, but updates to a whole channel or a single product can also be Forced at any time:

Force an Update on a Single Product

Step 1: In the navigation pane on the left-hand side of the screen, a plus sign appears next to the word ‘Inventory’. This can be clicked to expand the navigation panel:

Step 2:  Click the word Products:

There is a small white arrow in a green box at the far end of each product. This can be clicked to reveal more options:

Step 3: Click the words ‘Force Update’

When the message in the green box appears, all approved data for this channel has been successfully updated.

Force an Update for the Entire Channel

Step 1: The plus sign next to the channel name can be clicked to expand the navigation pane:

Step 2: Click ‘Inclusion Control’

Step 3: Click the refresh symbol that appears near the top left side of the page

A message will appear on your screen asking if you want to Synchronize this channel. Click Yes.

The message ‘Sync Now Requested’ will appear to confirm that the Sync was successfully requested:

When the sync is complete, a message will briefly appear stating that there is a ‘New Notification’:

Notifications can be found on the top left side of the screen: